Knowledge and Existence

24 May

I’m not absolutely sure of anything, and [there are] many things I don’t know anything about, but I don’t have to know an answer. I don’t feel frightened by not knowing things, by being lost in the mysterious universe without having any purpose which is the way it really is as far as I can tell possibly. It doesn’t frighten me.
– Richard Feynman

4 Responses to “Knowledge and Existence”

  1. healthdemystified May 26, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

    Those are brave words. I wonder how Richard got to the point in his life where he could say that with such conviction and strength.

    I always try to push myself out of my comfort zone, and it’s helped me to embrace uncertainty with less fear, but it’s a constant struggle.

    -Eric

    • 5i5i May 27, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

      I guess working in the counter intuitive world of quantum mechanics enables one to break out of other cognitive biases such as the need to see cause behind every effect.

      • Damian June 19, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

        Is cause and effect a chain with a definite start and end, or perhaps a circle, or something else?

        Question things enough and you always get here.

        So personally I have to agree with Feynman. He seemed to be a very clear thinker from what I know of his work.

        ABT

  2. 5i5i June 20, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Cause and effect would be linear by definition I would have thought? It’s time based, so isn’t that a linear dimension? Whether that’s a bounded dimension, i.e. with a start and end, is another question.

    ABT bro!

Leave a Reply

